Gov. Poll: APC leads with 8 states, PDP maintains very close distance

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday started the announcement of the results of governorship and state Houses of Assembly elections held in the country on Saturday.

The results released so far revealed some surprises and upsets across the country. For instance, the ruling All Progressives Congress in Oyo State lost the governorship poll to the Peoples Democratic Party. The APC candidate, Adebayo Adelabu, backed by the incumbent Governor Abiola Ajimobi, lost scandalously to his PDP’s counterpart, Seyi Makinde, with a margin of 157, 635 votes. While Makinde polled 515,621 votes, Adelabu came second with 357,982 votes.

Also, as it was during the February 23 presidential and National Assembly elections in Kwara State where the incumbent Senate President, Bukola Saraki, lost his bid to return to the Senate, his party lost all elective positions in the March 9 polls.

The Kwara State APC governorship candidate, Abdulrahman Abdulrazak, swept the poll to beat his PDP counterpart, Abdulrazak Atunwa, with a margin of 216,792 votes.

Also, the APC governorship candidate in Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, won a landslide victory over his closest rival, Jimi Agbaje of the PDP. Observers had expected Agbaje to give Sanwo-Olu a run for his money, but this was not to be as the political machinery of the national leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu that backed the new comer was too much for Agbaje Punch writes.

The PDP candidate was beaten with over 500,000 votes.

But as the people of Rivers State were waiting for the outcome of the polls, INEC announced the suspension of the governorship and House of Assembly elections in the state till further notice.

It cited violence that marred the exercise as reason for its actions.

Protest from the national headquarters of the PDP is, however, trailing the electoral umpire’s decision.

However, INEC had declared winners in some of the 29 states where the governorship poll was conducted on Saturday as of the time of filing this report this morning. These states include Lagos, Kwara, Gombe, Enugu, Oyo, Abia, Kebbi, Jigawa, Katsina , Ogun, Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi and Niger.

Other states where the results have not been fully released include Benue, Nasarawa, Sokoto.

But the results so far declared have  stirred protest as opposition parties in some states rejected the outcome citing vote-buying, supporters’ harassment and alleged bias by the electoral umpire and the security agencies as reasons.

Abia state

Candidates Votes %
PDP 261,127 na
APC 99,574 na
APGA 64,366 na
SDP 2,191 na
YPP 100 na

Candidates Votes %
PDP 350,179 115.22
APC 313,054 103.01

Akwa Ibom
Candidates Votes %
PDP 307,507 73.31
APC 109,180 26.03
PPP 60 0.01
YDP 43 0.01

Candidates Votes %
PDP 393,049 52.69
APC 135,903 18.22
SDP 1,020 0.14
LP 211 0.03

Candidates Votes %
PDP 449,935 95.54
APC 10,423 2.21
APGA 2,547 0.54
UPP 854 0.18

Candidates Votes %
APC 364,179 59.76
PDP 222,868 36.57
PRP 847 0.14

Candidates Votes %
APC 810,933 71.19
PDP 288,356 25.32

Candidates Votes %
APC 1,178,868 NA
PDP 488,705 NA

Candidates Votes %
APC 673,717 120.87
PDP 102,625 18.41

Candidates Votes %
APC 331,546 118.6
PDP 115,310 41.25

Candidates Votes %
APC 739,445 75.65
PDP 206,141 21.09
ADP 4,790 0.49
ADC 3,544 0.36

Candidates Votes %
APC 327,229 52.57
PDP 184,259 29.6
APGA 132,784 21.33

Candidates Votes %
APC 241,670 26.17
APM 222,153 24.06
ADC 110,412 11.96
PDP 70,802 7.67

Candidates Votes %
PDP 489,558 51.14
APC 486,145 50.79

Candidates Votes %
PDP 481,176 209.77
APC 339,799 148.14

You May Also Like:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.